top of page

Lauren Brownrigg

Lauren Brownrigg

You Are...Volume One

A beautiful collection of poems to share with our loved ones.

You are…is a collection of four poems, written by author Lauren Brownrigg. Each poem is written in rhyme and explores a different theme. The poems are titled: You are loved, You are enough, You are kind, You are remembered. The first three poems are written from the perspective of an older character who is expressing their feelings towards a younger character. The characters are non-human, gender neutral and non-role specific.  They could represent a range of roles and relationships (i.e., parent and child, grandparent and grandchild, aunt and niece, teacher and student, or any caregiving relationship).  The fourth poem is a single character, who explores feelings of grief and discusses the importance of remembering those who have passed. Each poem is a reminder to the child that they are important, cared for, valued, and mean something to someone. Following each poem, there is a definition of the word, and a discussion point, to encourage further reflection and conversation. There is also a journal page, to add additional notes or reflections.

This is a stunning collection of poems and picture book, that will help parents or caregivers express their feelings, show their love, and build nurturing relationships with a child or young person. Some people struggle to say how they feel and express their emotions, and this book will help them to open up and connect with others.  The book will show children they are loved unconditionally and that just being themselves is enough. It will help them to develop confidence, self-esteem, and positive relationships.

The watercolour style illustrations are exquisitely drawn, and the characters represented in each of the poems are adorable.

Star rating: 5 Stars

Summary: A stunning collection of poetry for younger children, beautifully illustrated. A perfect read-together picture book to share at bedtime. 


bottom of page